Death’s Gambit: Afterlife – Review

Our Score: 8/10

Death’s Gambit: Afterlife is a challenging 2D action platformer with a strong RPG component. Unravel the mystery of Siradon and discover the true cost of immortality as a Death agent enslaved to his service.


Siradon is centred on the promise of immortality. Challenge the everlasting guardians of the realm as Death’s right hand, and endure the unending struggle to purge their souls.

What is Death’s Gambit: Afterlife?

Death’s Gambit: Afterlife is a remastered and enhanced version of the hardcore 2D RPG action platformer Death’s Gambit. To face the dangers that lurk within Siradon, master the exact battle and use a broad selection of weapons and skills. Discover the true cost of immortality in a mysterious and harsh universe.

Death's Gambit: Afterlife Dialogue

On top of the original game, Afterlife includes a variety of extra material, including 10 new levels, over 30 weapons, 5 new bosses, mechanical overhauls, and more. Consequently, Your decisions will have an impact on Sorun’s epic conclusion.


Choose from seven playable classes, over 100 skills in the skill tree, and multi-classing to customise your battle style. In addition to that there are over 30 weapons, including bows, scythes, longswords, halberds, and more, are available to equip your character. With a variety of abilities and upgrades, you may choose how you use them. Hunt down 20 colossal monsters and other legendary beasts.Unlock one-of-a-kind movement and combat enhancements to open up and extend the environment. For instance, Each boss is a challenge that necessitates a different strategy to vanquish. Additionally, defeated bosses gain a new lease on life in an enormously more difficult heroic mode that may be accessed just after they’ve been defeated. Make a new challenge for yourself and master their new powers.

Death's Gambit: Afterlife Boss

As you move through the story, you’ll be able to determine Sorun’s fate by completing certain objectives and making important decisions. Scavenge, hunt, and deconstruct materials from around the globe to make new and useful gear for your journey through Siradon. After you’ve completed Afterlife, you’ll be able to unlock New Game+, which gives you three difficulty levels to choose from. Relive Sorun’s adventure with new opponent variations and modifiers exclusive to New Game+.

Look and Feel

Death's Gambit: Afterlife Art

Explore a vast environment with more than 20 gorgeously portrayed stages. Discover the secrets of oddball personalities from all walks of life. Explore non-linear levels and bosses, as well as side regions with more secrets to uncover and adversaries to defeat. Additionally, the pixel art in the game is incredibly well done. It looks really pretty and sets the tone of the game quite well. Furthermore, the various designs are also crafted quite well and have a sense of uniqueness to them. In addition, With nearly 3 hours of evocative music written by Kyle Hnedak, experience a meticulously crafted score that sets the tone for Death’s Gambit: Afterlife’s environment.

Death’s Gambit: Afterlife – Final Verdict

Death's Gambit: Afterlife Sleep

Death’s Gambit: Afterlife is a phenomenal Metroidvania game with souls-like elements. It has tight and precise gameplay, a strong visual style, and immense replayability making this perfect for fans of this genre. Above all, there is a lot of polish to this game, including the RPG mechanics. For all you souls like fans out there, this one is perfect. Not to mention, how it changes things up in NG+ and the other variations. In conclusion, this game is tons of fun.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: